A year of attempt(2021) and more.

A year of attempt(2021) and more.

ยท

3 min read

Dear self,
I'm writing to you, so as to put a warm smile on your face.

Here is my first-year review article, I believe it will help me keep track of how far I have come and I will ensure that I commit myself to doing this, yearly. Sincerely, I have given up on doing this, but looking back, I feel it's worth sharing. Like everyone, I do write goals for the year, believing I will see them through, only do I know, all will be an attempt.

I started the year by resuming back to school from eight to nine months of covid'19(Global pandemic) break in 2020. I appreciated God for the gift of life, yet I feel some emptiness within. Seeing some friends safe, lightened up my mood and I continued the journey to greatness.

The attempt

Some resulted in wins and some in losses

My focus throughout the year was to hone my front-end development skill, since I got motivated to do more when I got a job in a data science firm. Managing school work(final year demand) with this job responsibility of high demand, I never knew I got so much strength in me to keep up until I tried. The team practice the agile method of software development and hybrid work pattern( remote and onsite), it was quite flexible but tedious.

What helped through, was time management and proper planning. I wrote out all I have to do for the week on a to-do list and check them off, those unchecked will be turned over till the coming week. I do this using paper and pen since I find it comfortable. You can use digital tools like notion software, click up and others. For timing, I use the focus app( 3hours) with no notification all through this period. I got to know about the focus app through my colleague YouTube channel, Thanks to you.

The wins

  • I bagged a Bachelor of Technology in computer science.
  • Worked all through the year, the company made significant progress.
  • Attend hashnode BootCamp and started blogging on hashnode.
  • Got job recommendations from friends, family and colleagues.
  • Applied for international opportunities.
  • Improved my online presence.
  • Powered my room with light.
  • Improve my design sense.
  • Asked for help.
  • Practise self-care.
  • Got support from family and friends, I love you all.
  • Practise listening and supporting my friends.
  • I read some books titled "Toward mental exploit by David O.Oyedepo" and "The prophetic intercessor by James W.Goll"

Yo yo.... I turned 24.

via GIPHY

The losses

  • Got a lot of rejection emails and I cried myself to bed.
  • Failed to contribute to opensource during hackoctoberfest and after.
  • Lost business deals due to bad negotiation skills.
  • Never got featured on hashnode.
  • Suffered from suicidal thoughts.
  • Lost my almost becoming boyfriend.

    via GIPHY

More to ace, 2022.

  • I hope I turn some of my failures into wins.
  • I look forward to changing my machine.
  • I hope I win adulthood and all its responsibilities
  • I will be glad to give back to the community.
  • Loving God till infinity.

Final note

Life is not a bed of roses, be prepared for its ups and downs, it is a making process.
I'm expectant of some mind-blowing opportunities. I'm grateful to all those who help me make my goal a reality, those who made me smile, those who never gave up on me, those who checked up on my well being. I really appreciate it.

I also appreciate hashnode for giving me this platform, Thanks.

2021 is a wonderful year, let do more....10X achievement

Thanks for reading, you are the real MVP.

Smile More
HAPPY NEW YEAR. LET'S KICK-OFF 2022.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support BeeC00des by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย