Dev Retro 2022; The Journey

Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

Dev Retro 2022; The Journey

It is a marathon, not a sprint.

The Beginning

My year started with loads of opportunities in tech. Many came through my writing on hashnode, people reached out to me because the platform gave me visibility and people at least know what I do in tech ( Frontend development and Technical writing).

In January 2022, I set two goals for ease, unknown to me, the goals have lots of sub-goals attached. My goals were to get an international job and become a full-stack web developer. That's cool, right?

In January I was honing my React.js skill, I wrote some articles about it. You can check my tictactoe game built with React.js. At my former workplace, we used Vue.js for the company's projects. Following that, I began the year wrestling with my career decision.

Everyone struggles. How true is this statement?

In March, I embarked on serving my country for a year. During this period, I read at least three articles daily on hashnode or medium about people doing what I desire to achieve. Adrenaline was pumping through my veins, I believe I can do it. I travelled to the camping site, in Abia state, Nigeria. It was my first time visiting the eastern part of the country, whoop! I saw a lot, especially stories written in those old English textbooks about Calabar.

It was an adventure, I lived the National Youth Service Corps(NYSC) camping life, during the camping, I got a job interview based on a recommendation from a lovely friend. After the interview, I was advised that my communication was not clear enough. I later conveyed issues preventing my movement to the company location while they attempted to assist me, It was pointless.

First breakfast. Breakfast meant disappointment from career opportunities. I believe my Nigerian friends know this well, some understand how it feels.

During camping, I missed an open-source program(OSCA FEST) in Lagos, I joined online with a friend I met at NYSC camp. People's posts on Twitter made me admit that I missed a lot.

I'm a free bird now(out of camp). I went to Lagos for a design event (Untitled Designer Conference), where I reconnected with many design buddies. It was my first visit to Lagos. Anyways, touring the city was fun.

The Challenges

I was faced with the same decision regarding job search and service relocation, which was one of the most difficult things I had ever done in my life. Anyway, when I arrived in Ibadan in April, the real fight began.

I started Job hunting in the national and international markets for my skillset, it's not easy. I contacted around 20 tech-inclined businesses via LinkedIn, email, and phone calls. When some people responded, I understood the tech hustle was real, even for a single person (lone wolf).

Finally, I was hired by an IT firm in Ibadan. Congratulations, right? I was so desperate that I didn't read the terms and conditions; I later learned that it was a 9-5 job and that I couldn't do anything else while working, though I tried to achieve balance.

Before returning to work, I wrote about web performance which was featured on hashnode and I wrote about bitcoin in satoshi journal and got a contract for copycat, one of the technical writing deals I lost, which pained me a lot. Also, via my blog on hashnode Tealfeed and Aviyel platforms reached out for writing gigs. I experimented with it, but I could not keep up, due to time.

In July, my frontend job became so demanding that I paused my writing. I'm overjoyed that my writing has had an impact, some folks reached out to me about my blog post, and I told them it was on hold for the moment. The new work requires that I learnt Angular.js and do design (UI/UX) and software testing. I get exhausted easily, I knew this was an opportunity to improve my technical skill, though I do multitask with a little stipend. You are a Copa! Serve with humility.

I attended lots of virtual events in tech space in web 2 and 3, blockchain and open source. I was able to attend Google I/O extended as well as dev fest Ibadan in person, where I met several virtual friends and speakers. Food was available. Why will go to a tech event, and then miss that?

The journey went on, Angular.js and Typescript became my babies. A word said to me during this journey was whatever your hand finds doing, do it well. I contributed to the company project using these languages, I created a functional and responsive webpage that interacts with the backend well.

Back to my goals, I started applying for frontend roles since I'm confident with React.js, Angular.js and Vue.js. I started an international application I got over 50+ rejections. I knew something was missing, one major feedback was that the selected candidates were based in some regions, and the other was that there is someone better, this made me think deeper, and I almost got depressed, and cried almost every day still going to work (NYSC). The selection process got me thinking about who are these guys, and where are they in the world, why were they selected over me.

Someone said Rejection is redirection, I started asking seniors in the international market, about four of them Czar, MR Isaac...just to mention a few, they told me about their experiences, I was advised should keep refining my skills till I become a better version of myself, while applying to specific and targeted firms.

It was a whole lot, since I'm a deep thinker, my worries do not fade away quickly. I started preparing again, that study DSA(Data structure and Algorithms). I bagged a Javascript Data structure and Algorithms Certification from FreeCodeCamp. I also built some basic full-stack web 2 applications which I'm proud of, at least backend developers can't confuse me again.

At a point, the drill was painful I had to stop. It was already messing with my mental health. Due to the rejection, sometimes I feel software engineering is not for me, whenever I feel this way, I get messages from my friends, they are so sweet and precious.

Tolu Olugbemiro, I love your newsletter, it is a good morning ritual, and the private mail you sent me was so timely. Omole Grace, her social media post is motivation, thanks for the prayers and sweet words of encouragement. Filani Bisola, my growth babe, thanks for taking all that pertains to me so seriously. Jegede Bukola, I love how you push... I remember that text Bola don't give up, it rings in my head. Oladapo Lizzy, sweetest thanks for listening to my rant about my career, thanks for the sacrifice I see it so well. Opemipo, thanks for the interview prep and others who stay on calls with me, hearing how my day went I truly appreciate you, I love you all.

I got an interview I thought I was the one for the job because the recruiter said I was good and that she loves working with Africans and that they recruited a backend developer from Lagos and that It will be a good sync having blacks on the team. They believe in embracing diversity not just in the text as some companies do, with all the sweet talk I was not selected.

Afterwards, I constantly asked myself, what the hell is going on? I stopped social media posts and activities. I sat in my apartment and wept, thanks to my roommate's marvellous, she was shocked seeing a big girl like me sit on the floor crying her eye out she will pat me on the back, reminding me that all will be well. The process continued till my birthday, I got that rejection message again. Aye ooo (dialect)

Fast forward, Hacktoberfest is the season for celebrating open-source contributions projects, which hold in October annually. Anyways, I did not stop improving myself. Outreachy's open-source registration was out before hacktoberfest, and I started contributing to an open-source doc kitchen sune. I applied for Outreachy's internship. What are you thinking? I got accepted .... good news in a long while, though my bones we already aching me. I contributed to wagtail docs at the final stage, but I didn't make it. There was still some better!

In December, I started planning for the incoming year, majorly on how to restrategize and become a better developer.

Do I still cry? sometimes.

Did I get the job? no!

Did I improve? yes.

Job search is a jungle, If you have one guard with all you have, especially if your team contribute to your growth.

I'm grateful for the love and experiences put together. 2022 was a great year for me, it was filled with a lot of challenges that taught me resilience, grit and mental fortitude.

If Your year was like mine. I will encourage you to keep putting in the work and don't stop, also if you had your best year, I'm so happy for you. do more!

The Process (Pure Vibes)

Best Project of the Year

Crypto Dashboard

Best Books of the Year.

Battlefield of the Mind: Joyce Meyer

Managing Your Emotion: Joyce Meyer

Deep Work: Cal Newport (A gift from my former boss Adewale Adeyemo. Thank you!

Best Podcast of the Year

Software Engineering Daily

Best Music of the Year

While I'm waiting: Travis Greene

Best clothes of the Year

Pant trousers, toggle neck and flat baby shoe

Best Speech of the Year

She codes Africa Summit Odun Eweniyi's Keynote Speech, "WE HAVE TO DO MORE THAN WE HAVE DONE IN THE PAST YEARS, YOU DON'T GET THE JOB BECAUSE YOU ARE A WOMAN, YOU GET THE JOB BECAUSE YOU ARE QUALIFIED AND YOU CAN PERFORM " Women in Tech.

Best Story of the Year

WIMBIM Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Nigerian writer, a story about her writing rejection before she became world-class.

Support Base of the year

- Mummy(World wide fan)

- Marvellous Akinbayo (joy giver)

- Peace Ese (Encourager)

- Oladapo Elizabeth(Lover)

- Akwa Victor(Identity pumper)

- J.Jenus(Boss of logic, and challenger)

To everyone listed above, it is a privilege to have you in my life, thanks for all you did for me this season, your effort will never be forgotten.

Thanks for believing in me!

Best lover of the year

Bolarinwa (BeeCodes), thank you for loving yourself each day, I know in a few years you will read this article and laugh out so loud at those mistakes and rejections. I'm glad you keep pushing despite all odds. I'm glad for the courage you had recently and the sacrifice you made for yourself and others, I'm so happy to see the fire in you burn. Sweet Bee! stay sweet.

Expectation for 2023

I pray for wisdom, strength to pursue my desire and grace to help others going through life challenges.

Conclusion

I learnt decision-making, resilience and the ability to adapt to changes.

Life does not go as expected, Don't expect much from life!

Cheer to greater challenges and victory.

Still your striving software developer.

Let's make 2023 memorable.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support BeeC00des by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!