Volunteer Chronicles: Unveiling the Untold Stories of Community Heroes

Volunteer Chronicles: Unveiling the Untold Stories of Community Heroes

ยท

7 min read

Engaging in volunteer work involves individuals or groups willingly dedicating their time and effort, often for the betterment of the community. To me, it embodies the essence of contributing value to humanity.

I initiated this commitment during my undergraduate years, and it has consistently been an enriching experience(Track Record). I envision my future filled with the joy of organizing camping activities for children and teenagers.

Join me at my table, take a seat, and allow me to share the compelling story of a graduate student's journey volunteering for over a year in Nigeria, Africa.

Hunkered down in a corner of my room during my service year, I, like any Nigerian fulfilling the mandatory one-year service, felt a compelling urge to visit high schools in Nigeria. My goal is to alter the narrative being shared with them about career growth, particularly in the field of technology, which aligns with my expertise.

Little did I know that I wasn't the sole bearer of the burden. A friend and colleague called me, sharing her newfound inspiration to revisit secondary schools, recalling our impactful experience in 2019 with substantial attendance and influence in our local state.

I was overjoyed, realizing that my plans and strategies, previously outlined on paper, were validated, boosting my confidence in the accuracy of my instincts.

We pitched this great ideas to another friend, an health tech founder and community outreach expert, believe me she accepted to share her knowledge, time and resource with this teen. Our core team consist of Omole grace, Ponmile ogunjemite and I .

You will ask, why community project? Are you guys wealthy now or philanthropist, because only the rich embark on projects like this. Anyways we are growing young ladies in different industries, we are passionate about impact, the driving force and our cord of bonding. However, I personally believe in an Nigerian Artist word Davido we rise by lifting others.

We planned, reached out for sponsors , gather our resources to foster the mission of we reaching out to teenagers in three states in Nigeria, Ondo, Lagos, Oyo, with a theme tag "Teen Star A balance young lad".

The project span a time line of 6 months thereabout Each of the project was blast. Lagos state 60+ students, Oyo state 50+ students, and Ondo state 60+ students. We recorded great testimonials about the awareness the student had in areas like technology, mental health, self esteem and SGD Goals. Some reached out for further guidance and we are ever happy and ready to help, in our little way.

A big bomb for me was that we ignited the light in minds of this teens, and someday they will rise as solution provider and influence the state of things in their community.

We kicked started October 2023 and ended it March 2023, we overcome challenges we had in process, rejection from schools, access to resources like (public address system, projector, light to mention a few). Special thanks to super hero's behind the scene our volunteers and sponsors, kudos to those liking our works on social media.

The vision engulfed me so much that, after serving my country which i finished April 2023, The next goal for me was clear, but action were not achievable. I travelled from state to state just like a free bird, looking for where she could build her nest.

I got the eureka moment, to keep doing what you are doing, Since it was not unusual for me connect with people communities, I joined the movement, I reconnected with Akure Tech community with the eagerness to serve and have fun...did it work out... hmm we will get to know.

I left my service station with the warmest applauded to thrive through as it brings it goodies to me. The gentle spirited lady that I am could not let time pass while she get to work on dream project , team and company. I got myself engaged through volunteering and community project.

I applied to speak at Women Tech Makers AKURE chapter, I was selected as a speaker and I delivered my best on my topic .... this took a full day to serve the community and many hours for prep... fear anxiety and different emotion were running to my body, since it was my first for the year and you know tech audience are smart wizard, so I was racking my brains to share and teach what I do.

Oh you thought Akure tech community .. rejected me again. Nah... i was welcomed with open arms, I loved every bit of that experience, i interacted with more people, had fun... the happiness , the vibes and all lifted my soul. Its as though I was delivered from 9-5 spirit. Oh this gave me the boldness I needed to step out, since i like taking things slow and do things in silence.

I stayed a while in Akure city, reconnecting with old friends and meeting new friends though, some of this peeps see the community works i engage in, and they shared with me opportunities to do more of this... yeah yeah .... you see the flow right... anyways show the world your work... that does not bite, the critics and genuine accolade make a good rhythm, just like a great beat to good lyrics.

In the mood of outreach wave, my ocean was stirred. While meeting new folks and navigating my career journey, many newbies asked me what career path is best for them, while in that head space i remembered i was one time in that position where I wanted to do everything in tech... now that i know better, i want to help the folks faster, i hosted a webinar with my friends, we educated them to best our knowledge.

Taking the journey, one step at a time, i trained about 30+ web development from a religious gathering, i felt so fulfiled sharing knowledge... though i still a learner too.

I was called from another religious gathering to host a tech program for undergraduate students, i spoke heart to heart with them, shared my failure as lessons to them and emphasize on the fact that the ecosystem system needs everyone, diversity and inclusion is key in growth and development of technology, it not for tribe or for certain race .

Giving my best to the world, that's what i'm here to do, I did not stop here. I got a facilitator contract with a tech brand, where teens and young adult were camped for weeks to acquire tech skills , I was super charged I joined this blissful ride with other facilitators.

I went camping with the girls for 3 weeks the first of the it kind... yeah i was happy to see raw growth process from been a teenage who couldn't use a personal computer to an individual who could practice logical command on her laptop, this project was supervised by matrix lab, in partnership with an institution founded by The governors wife . I was energized to keep moving.

Still on volunteering, I got an opportunity to volunteer for product dive a leading community for product managers in Nigeria. yeah i met the chairwoman of product dive, she was calm and ready to guide young people till they bring their dreams to live. The best part of this, is meeting with high value women in the industry, who rose to the top career and checked all boxes.

Truth be told, I was already getting tired, especially the expenses and inconvenience that comes with volunteering, eating different foods, sleeping in different hotel rooms, stressing your body and waking up to catch up with local cabs, smiling under the sun after taking hot insult from local cab men, who think the are always right. Hmmm yet i can't stop... i chose this life.

I got message from some NGO's to come speak to young ladies about career in tech Padiea Africa and seed mentors africa. I was privileged to speak to 150 plus ladies at Padiea Africa program for girls in Ondo state, also for seed mentors 60+ students are yet to explore practical knowledge of tech solution and product development.

I'm not yet proud, because tech education is big ball, people in my continent young folks, need to thrive in the digital economy, but we are yet to harness its power to the very best of it. Young people are curious and inquisitive, the need answers and guidance to use technology for good. I am a key contributor to making change in my community .

Finally, I ended the year with being an event organizer. Dev fest 2023 in AKURE. We planned and made the day a memorable as individuals in the ecosystem got answers to question, connected with colleagues , got familiar with tech brands, product and technologies as they grow in the space.

I'm learning, I need systems to fasten my process and refine my strategies and ideas. If you have big, mini project you plan to embark in 2024, I'm open for collaboration.

I am Bolarinwa Ajayi(BeeC00des).

A young lady from Africa who does magic with a little wand.

Thanks for reading through, you comment is an encouragement.

Share with me what you are doing in your community, let connect.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support BeeC00des by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย