Beyond Resolutions.

Beyond Resolutions.

My year started on a good note, I thought. 7th January a Sunday morning, I received a congratulatory email stating that I successfully passed a job interview for a React frontend developer position which I prepared for last year Christmas while visiting my aunt in Ibadan. My deepest appreciation go to Chubby Opeyemi and Abdul (my sweet-voice engineer), they provided valuable support and guidance in the web 3 space.

I continued my dedication to serve the Nigerian Government as any patriotic citizen graduate would do. I resumed my responsibility to the firm which I worked for, in the first quarter of year working angular technology and ionic, contributing to website, web app and mobile app solution of the company.

I had a unique experience, as I juggled learning React at home and applying it to personal projects with the organization's duty. Based on the rejections I faced in 2022, I learned that the market heavily favored React.js developers.

However, in 2023, there was a sudden shift, and everyone seemed to transition to Next.js. This dynamic nature reflects the industry's tendency to undergo rapid changes in the blink of an eye.

Yeah, I went on with other technical interviews "hot seat" , just to keep testing my skills and learning market requirement and you know I might get lucky ... right.

Don't worry, sip your drink!

I recall a tweet I came across some time ago. It emphasized the notion that being considered dangerous youth, implies safeguarding yourself in the marketplace. It encourages providing value in exchange for your skills and not allowing others to take advantage of your abilities or youthfulness. It means don't let people despise your youth... my Christian folks shout glorrrrrry!

I had that in mind for 2023, never do I know that the biggest whale in the sea master patience, yeah. I entered the year feeling like a boss, you know.....( the CEO energy) with good vibes always insha allah. Still doing interview and getting the constructive feedbacks, that encouraged me to improve my skill and to keep the hustle going.

March 2023, I gained confidence to reject offer from my current job harboring high expectations of joining a crypto firm project, Taking that leap of faith, OMG i landed in a hot frying pan ( unemployment squad), as the firm didn't secure the anticipated funding, and operations couldn't commence, Naija folks... shege right! For Q1.

I looked like someone rain just dealt with, I mean with my pride I could have flew to Ghana(the firm location), I wondered how I got here. However, I preferred not to dwell on losses. I deployed Plan B for the year, which involved freelancing and engaging in community work, with great hope.

Subsequently, I re-strategized with great hope for Plan C. At this point, my buddies we getting the congratulation and moving on, then I remembered a saying "if it in the neighborhood, you know it around, then rejoice with others, yours is to come".

Aren't you curious what plan B is ? check out this article. Without hesitation, I embraced Plan C with renewed vigor and the spirit of the new year. As Q2 commenced, I wasn't unemployed because I had assigned myself tasks. I found joy in celebrating with others, all while staying engaged in the ongoing interview process.

8th of May, Plan C worked, it worked! I joined a remote and global team. I confidently told myself,

Girl, you're doing great!

2023 is your year!

My reaffirmation was paying off. God is real

However, on the 29th of May, I discovered it was a flash of reality. I left the team due to some reasons, even though I tried contributing to the project. I'm grateful to my cute team lead Bambo and Mr Henry, for the encouragement and support. It was my dream job in a health tech firm, addressing health issues with my technological skills was a dream for me. Experiencing this heartbreak was unexpected, my self-esteem took a hit, and I felt shattered.

June, I felt the urge to cry, but my tear ducts seemed dried up, as I had been known as a crybaby, Gboju (in Yoruba) meaning Take heart. My coping mechanism involved meeting people thanks to Masebinu Ben you Rock bro! I went back to my strategies in plan B.

Plan B brought smiles and hearty laughter, rescuing me from the monotonous cycle of sitting in front of a computer for hours and then heading home to sleep—a routine I had followed for many years of my life.

I embarked on extensive travels throughout Nigeria, lending support to people's lives and projects. As time flowed and each day faded away, I bore my responsibilities remarkably well this year. June was a month of documentation, reading, and an attempt to comprehend life, as at that point, I felt fatigued.

Two months before my birthday, the pressure was overwhelming, coming from both external and internal sources. I shed tears, really, expressing it with a Teni-like voice: I cried diesel and fuel. That's when the reality of adulthood hit me—bills upon bills upon bills.

However, as I reflected on my life and reached out to people, I realized the immense value of social capital. My steadfast friends in Christ—Grace, Fiyin, Bro Seyi, and Pastor Victor were praying for me and sending letters of encouragement and those words arrived just in time.

I came close to losing my faith; I stopped going to church, and everything seemed meaningless. I desperately sought an escape route, but the light in my eyes and my passion were dimming. I felt the urge to settle and applaud others, as time continued to tick away.

Reading was an escape room , I read J.K. Rowling's story, it captivated me, I realized the challenges she faced and I felt the need to rekindle my self-motivation.

Drawing inspiration from Plan B, where I encountered accomplished women in their careers, Madam Ewatomi advised me to do what makes me happy, assuring that things would fall in place. I took note of all the advice people offered, even though it wasn't particularly enjoyable at the moment.

That's when I realized Plan B had been effective—I relied on it consistently throughout the year, and it brought me joy and peace. Although it might not have reached its full potential, I'm glad I took the chance. Despite numerous failed interviews and rejections, my year was a beautiful mix of love, tears, mistakes, victories, and failures. I chose to fall forward.

I may not be shouting mama, I made it just yet, but I want the world to know that I'm in the midst of my journey, and it's worth enduring. I'll be involved in some upskilling training, so if you know of any opportunities in my field, whether it's free access to frontend mentors, or O'Reilly Media subscription or a systemic growth process, feel free to share.

An unforgettable experience for me in 2023 was getting a gadgets gift 30th Dec, 2023 from my friend, my Birthday was super awesome ( I experience the euphoria of surprises), Hanging out with funmbi, fiyin, lizzy, kemisola (bills on them) this made the year worth it. I think the universe rewarded my little effort.

2023 has come to a close, and I hope to reap some rewards from it.

Even though the year has passed, you planted seeds of patience, resilience, hard work, love, and commitment, you will eventually harvest the reward. Are you expectant something great ? Well, I know what it like.

Trust your process

A young Lady from Africa.

Happy I scared a bit of my fears 2023.

Thanks for reading through my thought and experience.

Thanks to everyone rooting for me, I appreciate your hugs, time and love.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support BeeC00des by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!